Login name (or Membership Nr.)
Remember Login name

Member of  
Lecture on Marine Seismic Acquisition by Roald van Borselen
22 November 2013
Recent Advances in Marine Seismic Acquisition
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Lecture by Roald van Borselen

EAGE Board Member, Managing Director at PGS Geophysical Roald van Borselen will give a free lecture to EAGE Sakhalin local chapter on the topic of Recent Advances in Marine Seismic Acquisition on 22 November 2013.

The lecture, which will be given in English, is scheduled to start at 17:00 in Pacific Plaza Sakhalin hotel, Krilijon Hall (172 Prospekt Mira Str.).

Biography of Roald van Borselen

Roald Gunnar van Borselen graduated in 1991 from the Delft University of Technology with a MSc degree in Applied Geophysics. He continued his studies at Delft doing a PhD which he completed in 1995. After taking an internship at Amoco Production company in the Gulf of Mexico asset team, he joined the company to work in the Strategic Exploration Team, being involved in 3D Depth Migration, Velocity Model Building and Time Processing. After three years in Houston, he moved to join Amoco’ EPTG team in Tulsa Oklahoma to work on the development and commercialization of new imaging and velocity model building technology. In 1999, he returned to Europe to join PGS, where he has held several positions, all in the field of Processing R&D and R&D management. In 2002, he completed an MBA from the University of Surrey. He is currently Managing Director at PGS Geophysical (Netherlands) BV. He has extensive experience in seismic research and development in the fields of noise removal, multiple removal, wave-field decomposition, wave-field regularization, land processing, time and depth migration, velocity model building, advanced acquisition design, simultaneous source technology and multi- & wide-azimuth processing techniques. His interests are in the fields of mathematics, inversion and seismic data acquisition and processing, related to oil and gas exploration. He is an active member of SEG, PGK and EAGE. He has been a member of the EAGE’ Technical Programme Committee since 2007, and Membership and Cooperation Officer at EAGE since June 2012.