The Board is responsible for developing appropriate policies to achieve the objectives of EAGE. It acts in the interests of the members, according to these objectives.

The election of Board members will take place in a ballot open to all members of the Association with support from the Nominations Committee (NC).

Board member nomination

There two ways to be nominated for a board function:

1. The current Board, represented in the Nominations Committee (NC), proposes at least one candidate for each position to be filled at the next ballot. The NC will seek diversity of Board membership in terms of discipline, sector (resource company, service company, academia), Division, geographical location, nationality and gender. The Board must receive the written consent of each nominated candidate. Candidates not securing Board nomination may choose to secure nomination by petition.

2. Members may nominate in writing, any other member eligible for Board membership as a candidate for any vacant position. For such a nomination to be valid it must be signed by at least 20 members, be accompanied by the written consent of the nominee and reach the Secretary-Treasurer ( not later than 1 February of any one year. No member may submit and/or sign more than one nomination for each office.

For the 2018-19 period, there were five vacant positions available. Nominations closed on 1 February 2018.

2018 Ballot

The period for Board Member nominations closed on 1 February 2018

Voting process

EAGE will send an invitation for voting to all active members from Monday 9 April. Please cast your vote using the credentials that have been sent to your preferred email address (please note that some spam filters may consider it spam since it contains an URL). 

If you have any questions please contact us at or by phone +31 88 995 5055.

Overview Board positions

The Board consists of 10 members (with 7 as minimum and 10 maximum).

An elected candidate for President becomes Vice-President-Elect for the first year of office, automatically becoming Vice-President at the beginning of the second year, and finally serving as President for the third year. The President is not eligible for re-election.

The Chairs of the Divisions serve in a rolling sequence of twice two years. The candidate serves as Vice-Chair for a first period of two years. This is followed by a second period of two years as Chair of that Division and, ex officio, a member of the EAGE Board, following approval from the members.

All other Board members, i.e. the Secretary- Treasurer, Publications Officer, Technical Programme Officer, Education officer and Membership & Cooperation Officer, are elected for two years and can be re-elected twice. The maximum period in office for these positions is six years.